South East governors to meet Tinubu over Nnamdi Kanu’s freedom

The South-East Governors Forum has agreed to meet with President Bola Tinubu and engage with the Nigerian government to secure the release of Nnamdi Kanu, the detained leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB). 

This decision was contained in a communiqué issued after a six-hour meeting at the Enugu State Government House on Tuesday. 

All five governors from the region – Peter Mbah (Enugu), Alex Otti (Abia), Prof Charles Soludo (Anambra), Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi), and Senator Hope Uzodimma (Imo) – attended the meeting and signed the five-point communiqué. 

The forum also resolved to implement the report of the South East Security and Economic Summit held in Owerri on September 28, 2023, with actionable plans.

The resolution partly read: “The Forum commiserated with Government and people of Abia State, Ebonyi State, Imo State, South East, Nigeria and Chief Ogbonnaya Onu’s Family on the demise of His Excellency, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu.

“The Forum received the delegation of the Former President Chief Olusegun Obasanjo GCFR, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, GCON and His Royal Majesty Igwe Nnaemeka Achebe CFR, Obi of Onitsha who came on a solidarity visit to the Forum.

“The Forum deliberated on the reviewed report of the South East Security and economic Summit held in Owerri on the 28th September, 2023  and agreed to implement the aspects of the report pertaining to security and economic  integration  and affirmed its desire to put actionable plans on the key issues agreed.

“The Forum resolved to visit Mr. President to discuss pressing issues concerning the South East Region.

“The Forum also resolved to interface with the Federal Government to secure the release of Mr. Nnamdi Kanu.”

Meanwhile, the forum has set up the burial committee for the late former governor of Abia state and Minister of Science, Innovation and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu. 

The committee is to be chaired by Anyim Puis Anyim with former Minister of Transportation and Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amechi as Secretary of the committee.