Buhari orders Amaechi, Malami, Ngige, other ministers seeking elective office to resign

President Buhari has ordered all members of the Federal Executive Council running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday the 16th of May, 2022.

The directive excludes the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

The order comes hours after the Court of Appeal set aside the judgment of the Federal High Court in Umuahia that voided a section of the electoral act that barred political appointees from contesting in an election. 

The order came at Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council meeting presided over by the President at the Council Chambers of the State House, Abuja.

Minister of information, Lai Mohammed, disclosed this to State House correspondents shortly after the meeting.

Cabinet members affected include Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Justice minister and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami.

Others include the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for governorship position in Cross Rivers State, the Minister of Women Affairs, Paulline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.